Back to lineageAll models
Model Passport / Meta / Llama 4

Llama 4 Scout

Accepts text and images together, and can read up to 10 million tokens in one request — a token is one of the small chunks that text and images are broken into. It is divided into 16 specialist sections, and each token is handled by only a fraction of the model: 17 billion of its 109 billion parameters.

AvailableChecked Aug 31, 2026
01
Identity

What it is

Accepts text and images together, and can read up to 10 million tokens in one request — a token is one of the small chunks that text and images are broken into. It is divided into 16 specialist sections, and each token is handled by only a fraction of the model: 17 billion of its 109 billion parameters.

When to use it. Assistant-style chat and visual reasoning across the twelve languages the model card lists.

Model DNA

9 identity dimensions, each read from a single field of this release's record and shown in the same order on every model. Nothing here is a score, a rating, or a ranking, and a dimension the record does not carry says so rather than being left out.

  • CreatorMeta
  • FamilyLlama 4
  • Generation4
  • TierScout
  • InputText, Image
  • OutputText
  • SpecializationLanguage and reasoning, Multimodal generalist
  • AccessOpen-weight
  • WeightsDownloadable
What each segment means, and which field it comes from
Creator
MetaThe organization recorded as having built this release. A creator is not the same entity as a platform that serves the model or a product that ships it.Read from organizationId on this release record.How ModelTree keeps creator, model, product and platform separate
Family
Llama 4The model line this release belongs to, as its creator names it. A family groups releases; it is not itself a release.Read from familyId on this release record.How ModelTree keeps creator, model, product and platform separate
Generation
4The version string the creator published for this release, recorded as written. ModelTree does not renumber, normalise, or order versions.Read from version on this release record.
Tier
ScoutThe variant name the creator gave this release within its family. It is a name, not a rank: what a creator means by it is recorded only where the creator has stated it.Read from variant on this release record.Why ModelTree publishes no universal ranking
Input
Text, ImageThe kinds of input this release is documented as accepting.Read from inputModalities on this release record.
Output
TextThe kinds of output this release is documented as producing.Read from outputModalities on this release record.
Specialization
Language and reasoning, Multimodal generalistThe documented focus of this release. Categories are labels, never summed or weighted into a score.Read from categories on this release record.
Access
Open-weightHow this release can be reached, as its creator documents it.Read from accessType on this release record.How ModelTree defines each access type
Weights
DownloadableWhether the licence record held for this release documents its weights as downloadable. Downloadable weights and an OSI-approved licence are separate claims, so this is not a statement that the release is open source.Read from license on this release record.What “open weight” means
Creator
Meta
Family
Llama 4
Version
4
Variant
Scout
Released
Apr 5, 2025
Lifecycle status
Available
Access
Open-weight
Record slug
llama-4-scout

Canonical record

Canonical name
Llama 4 Scout
Canonical page
/ModelTree/models/llama-4-scout/
Lifecycle
Available. The vendor’s currently offered version. Shown as “Available”. It is not a claim that the model is recommended or preferred — only that the vendor still offers it.

API identifiers

  • meta-llama/Llama-4-Scout-17B-16E-Instruct
  • meta-llama/Llama-4-Scout-17B-16E
02
Lineage

Where it fits

MetaLlama 4Llama 4 Scout

Sibling variants

Releases published as variants of the same family. It implies no ordering between them.

What the tier names mean

No creator statement of what these 2 variant names mean is recorded for Llama 4.

Tier names are recorded for one family and generation at a time, because the same word can mean different things in two generations of the same line. Entries are ordered by first release, which is not a ranking, and ModelTree draws no comparison between this family's names and any other creator's. How ModelTree treats guidance and ranking

Meta has published no statement ModelTree could verify about what these names mean: Maverick, Scout. ModelTree does not infer a tier's meaning from its name, its price, or where it sits in a list.

03
Technical record

Documented limits

Input modalities
text, image
Output modalities
text
Context window
10,000,000 tokens
Maximum output
Not recorded
Parameters
109B total, 17B active
Categories
  • Language and reasoning
  • Multimodal generalist
04
Access and licensing

How you can get it

Open-weight. Model weights can be downloaded. This alone says nothing about the licence: the schema records downloadable weights and OSI-approval as two separate booleans, so open-weight does not imply open-source.

How ModelTree defines access and licensing

Licence

Licence
Llama 4 Community License Agreement
SPDX identifier
Not recorded
Downloadable weights
Weights are documented as downloadable.
OSI-approved
The licence is not recorded as OSI-approved, so this release is not described as open source.
Coverage

What this passport does not record

These sections are absent from this page because no reviewed record exists for them. They are listed rather than dropped silently, because a missing section and a section ModelTree has decided nothing about look identical otherwise.

Where it is served
No deployment record ties this release to a serving platform. ModelTree has not yet reviewed platform availability for this record; absence is not a claim that the model is unavailable.
What it costs
No published price is recorded for this release. A price is held only against a reviewed deployment on a named platform, with its currency, unit, and effective date; absence is not a claim that the model is free or unpriced.
What has changed
No dated release event is recorded for this release beyond its release date. Announcement, availability, and deprecation events are held as separate sourced records, and none has been reviewed for this one.
05
Usage evidence

Who reports using it

Downloads last month

Measured over requests served by the Hugging Face Hub for the download-counting query files of the meta-llama/Llama-4-Scout-17B-16E-Instruct repository, reported in downloads. Readings of other metrics or populations are listed separately and are not combined with these.

Single-source evidence: not enough independent non-creator sources for a cross-source statement.

Independent evidence

  • Platform operator report

    Downloads last month: 317,748 (reading taken 26 August 2026)

    Metric
    Downloads last month (downloads)
    Measured population
    requests served by the Hugging Face Hub for the download-counting query files of the meta-llama/Llama-4-Scout-17B-16E-Instruct repository
    Time window
    2026-07 to 2026-08
    Methodology
    Measured by Hugging Face, not reported by Meta: "The count is done server-side as the Hub serves files for downloads." Hugging Face counts "Every HTTP request to these files, including GET and HEAD" as one download, where "these files" are "a set of query files" chosen per library "to avoid double counting downloads". This repository declares the transformers library, and Hugging Face states only that "the query file depends on each library", keeping the per-library definitions in its open-source library list rather than on the documentation page, so the exact file counted for this repository is not stated by the cited sources.
    Scope
    One distribution channel and one repository: the Instruct build of Llama 4 Scout on the Hugging Face Hub. It measures file requests only, so it says nothing about inference traffic, deployments or people, and nothing about weights obtained from llama.com, cloud marketplaces or mirrors.
    Last verified
    Aug 26, 2026
    Caveats
    • Hugging Face counts requests, not people or deployments: "Every HTTP request to these files, including GET and HEAD, will be counted as a download." A single automated pipeline can therefore contribute many downloads.
    • The Hub's default statistics neither deduplicate downloaders nor exclude automated traffic. Hugging Face offers request-level Publisher Analytics separately for anyone who needs to "exclude downloads from CI/CD pipelines, or deduplicate users (i.e. count unique downloaders)".
    • This is a live rolling counter rather than a published, fixed figure. 317,748 is the reading taken on 26 August 2026; the same URL will return a different number on a later date.
    • Hugging Face labels this counter "Downloads last month" but states no window boundaries, so the window recorded here is the span of calendar months the reading can fall in rather than a precise interval.
    • It covers only meta-llama/Llama-4-Scout-17B-16E-Instruct. The base repository meta-llama/Llama-4-Scout-17B-16E carries its own separate counter, and the two are not added together.
    • The Hub record reports "gated": "manual" for this repository, so the figure is measured on an access-gated repository rather than an openly downloadable one.

Downloads last month

Measured over requests served by the Hugging Face Hub for the download-counting query files of the meta-llama/Llama-4-Scout-17B-16E repository, reported in downloads. Readings of other metrics or populations are listed separately and are not combined with these.

Single-source evidence: not enough independent non-creator sources for a cross-source statement.

Independent evidence

  • Platform operator report

    Downloads last month: 14,384 (reading taken 26 August 2026)

    Metric
    Downloads last month (downloads)
    Measured population
    requests served by the Hugging Face Hub for the download-counting query files of the meta-llama/Llama-4-Scout-17B-16E repository
    Time window
    2026-07 to 2026-08
    Methodology
    The same server-side count Hugging Face applies to every repository: "Every HTTP request to these files, including GET and HEAD, will be counted as a download", against "a set of query files" chosen per library "to avoid double counting downloads". Recorded separately from the Instruct repository because it counts a different repository, not because a different method was used.
    Scope
    The base, non-instruction-tuned repository of Llama 4 Scout on the Hugging Face Hub. Both repositories are listed as API aliases of this one release, so this is a second reading of a different population, not a second reading of the same fact.
    Last verified
    Aug 26, 2026
    Caveats
    • This figure and the 317,748 recorded for meta-llama/Llama-4-Scout-17B-16E-Instruct count two different repositories. They are deliberately not added together, and their sum would not be a meaningful total for the release.
    • Hugging Face counts requests, not people or deployments, and its default statistics neither deduplicate downloaders nor exclude automated traffic.
    • This is a live rolling counter rather than a published, fixed figure. 14,384 is the reading taken on 26 August 2026; the same URL will return a different number on a later date.
    • Hugging Face labels this counter "Downloads last month" but states no window boundaries, so the window recorded here is the span of calendar months the reading can fall in rather than a precise interval.
    • The Hub record reports "gated": "manual" for this repository, so the figure is measured on an access-gated repository rather than an openly downloadable one.
How ModelTree qualifies usage evidence

Incompatible populations are never merged

Weekly users of one assistant, downloads from one model hub, and routed tokens on one aggregator count different populations. ModelTree groups observations only when the metric, the unit, and the measured population match exactly. Nothing is converted, normalized, weighted, or ranked, and there is no composite popularity score.

Sources are qualified, not scored

Every observation names the exact sources behind it and states whether it is a creator self-report, a platform operator report, an independent measurement, a developer survey, or a community signal. Creator self-reports are kept in their own labelled list because the creator has an interest in the figure; they are still shown, never hidden.

A synthesis needs two independent publishers

A cross-source statement may only be made when at least two non-creator observations from at least two different publishers measure the same metric over the same population. A single-source observation is still published as an observation, but it cannot produce a cross-source statement.

Missing and conflicting evidence stays visible

When no qualifying source exists, this section says so rather than estimating. When two qualifying sources disagree, both readings are shown and labelled as conflicting; neither is dropped and no winner is declared. A figure that has not been re-checked within 180 days is marked stale.

06
Conditional fit

When it fits, and when it does not

Everything in this section is ModelTree editorial synthesis: a reading of facts recorded elsewhere in this dataset, each traced to the sources beneath it. It is conditional guidance for a stated situation. It does not declare this model preferable to another, and no overall verdict is produced here or anywhere else in ModelTree.

Good fit when

Conditions under which the recorded facts support choosing this model. Not a statement that it is preferable to any other model.

Good fit whenyou have to run the model on infrastructure you operate yourself

ModelTree editorial synthesisMeta publishes downloadable weights for Llama 4 Scout under the Llama 4 Community License Agreement, so it can be deployed on hardware the operator controls rather than reached only through a vendor API.

Rubric dimensions used
  • Access and licensingHow can it be obtained, and what does its licence permit?
Scope
Covers how the weights may be obtained and run. It says nothing about output quality, cost, or the terms of any hosted offering built on these weights.
Evidence verified
Aug 31, 2026
Caveats
  • Downloadable weights are not an OSI-approved open-source licence; the agreement carries conditions of its own.
  • This statement rests on availability facts alone: it is derived from the release's access and licence records, not from any benchmark result or usage observation.
What this rests on
Creator claims

Recorded from pages published by the model’s creator. Documentation, not measurement.

Cited by this statement

Trade-off

Conditions where the recorded facts cut both ways, so the decision depends on what the reader is willing to accept.

Trade-offyou plan to depend on the full 10,000,000-token context window the model card documents

ModelTree editorial synthesisThe documented context window states what the interface accepts, not how well the model uses it; ModelTree records no measured evidence of retrieval quality across that length for this release.

Rubric dimensions used
  • Context windowHow much input and output length does the documentation state?
  • Documented limitsWhat limits and intended uses does the documentation state outright?
Scope
Covers the stated input limit only. Serving platforms may accept less, and no long-context evaluation is recorded here.
Evidence verified
Aug 31, 2026
Caveats
  • A stated context window is a documented interface limit, not a measurement of behaviour.
  • No long-context benchmark result is recorded for this release, so the gap is stated rather than filled by inference.
What this rests on
Creator claims

Recorded from pages published by the model’s creator. Documentation, not measurement.

Cited by this statement

Avoid when

Conditions under which the recorded facts count against this model. Not a statement that the model is deficient.

Avoid whenyour product will pass 700 million monthly active users without a separate agreement with Meta

ModelTree editorial synthesisSection 2 of the Llama 4 Community License Agreement requires a separate licence from Meta above 700 million monthly active users, and the published agreement does not itself grant that licence.

Rubric dimensions used
  • Access and licensingHow can it be obtained, and what does its licence permit?
Scope
Covers the licence condition as published. It does not describe what terms Meta grants on request, which are not public.
Evidence verified
Aug 31, 2026
Caveats
  • The threshold is measured by the licence's own definition of monthly active users, not by any figure recorded here.
  • Licence terms change between model generations; this reading applies to the Llama 4 agreement only.
What this rests on
Creator claims

Recorded from pages published by the model’s creator. Documentation, not measurement.

Cited by this statement

Where the evidence runs out

Rubric dimensions ModelTree looked at for this release and could not support. They are recorded so a silent absence is not read as a judgement either way.

  • Usage evidenceNo qualifying source

    What source-qualified usage has been observed, over which population?

    No source-qualified usage observation is recorded for this release, so no guidance is derived from who is running it or at what scale.

    Checked Aug 15, 2026

How ModelTree derives conditional fit

Guidance is conditional, never a verdict

Every statement is filed as one of three kinds — good fit when, trade-off, or avoid when — and each carries the condition it applies under. There is no fourth, unconditional kind, no composite score, and no comparison against other models.

What the wording check does, and what it cannot do

Validation refuses a fixed list of vocabulary in ModelTree’s own editorial text: superlatives, best-in-class and go-to framing, beats-everything phrasing, numeric rankings, universal quantifiers, and composite-score wording. That is a vocabulary filter, not a judgement about meaning. It catches the usual ways a verdict gets written down, but a comparative claim phrased around those words would pass it, and it errs toward rejecting borderline wording that an author can simply rephrase. The check that actually holds is provenance, below: a statement may cite only the sources the facts beneath it already cite, so a comparison cannot pull in a source no recorded fact carries. That constrains where evidence comes from, not what a sentence means. Neither check reads a statement and decides whether its facts support it — that judgement stays with you, which is why every statement lists the facts and sources it rests on.

The rubric is disclosed, not weighted

A statement names the dimensions it was derived from, and each dimension must be answered by a fact of a kind that can answer it. Dimensions are never added up or weighed against each other; they exist so a reader can see which questions were asked.

  • Context windowHow much input and output length does the documentation state?
  • Documented limitsWhat limits and intended uses does the documentation state outright?
  • Modality coverageWhich inputs and outputs are documented?
  • Access and licensingHow can it be obtained, and what does its licence permit?
  • Lifecycle stabilityWhat lifecycle stage do the vendor records place it in?
  • Cost structureWhat rates are recorded, in which unit and currency?
  • Measured benchmark evidenceWhat did a recorded evaluation measure, under which setup?
  • Usage evidenceWhat source-qualified usage has been observed, over which population?

The evidence threshold

A statement must rest on at least one structured fact already recorded here — a release or family field, a lifecycle event, an evaluation result, a usage observation, or a pricing record — and it must be a fact about this release. It may cite only sources those facts already cite, so guidance cannot pull in a source no recorded fact carries, and it cannot be dated earlier than the evidence beneath it.

Conflicts are shown, not resolved

When two statements about this release contradict each other on the same dimension, both are published and linked to one another. ModelTree does not decide between them, and the underlying disagreement between sources is left visible.

What this cannot tell you

Recorded facts are mostly documentation, and documentation states what an interface accepts rather than how well a model behaves. Where a dimension has no qualifying evidence, it is listed as a gap instead of being filled by inference. The date shown on a statement is the verification date of the newest fact beneath it, not a record that an editor re-read the reasoning; once that evidence is more than 180 days old the statement is marked stale. Nothing here is a recommendation tailored to a reader, and nothing here ranks models.

07
Provenance

Primary sources

Found something wrong on this page?Report incorrect data for llama-4-scout. Corrections are filed against the record slug so the fix lands on the right release.

Every fact above is recorded with the primary source it came from and the date it was last checked. This record was last verified on.How we verify and keep facts fresh.